Deutsch Intern

    International Networks

    The University of Würzburg works together with several international networks. The most important networks are listed below:

    1. Coimbra- Group

    The Coimbra-Group is an association of renowned universities with long-standing, academic traditions in Europe. Coimbra-Group membership is exclusive to top universities including Oxford, Cambridge and Edinburgh in Great Britain, Uppsala, Bergen and Aarhus in Scandinavia, Geneva, Louvain-la-Neuvee, Montpellier, and Lyon in the French-speaking regions, Trinity College Dublin, Ud Barcelona, Groningen and many others. The complete list can be found here!

    From the Coimbra-Group website: Founded in 1985 and formally constituted by Charter in 1987, the Coimbra Group is an association of long-established European multidisciplinary universities of high international standard. The Coimbra Group is committed to creating special academic and cultural ties in order to promote, for the benefit of its members, internationalization, academic collaboration, excellence in learning and research, and service to society. It is also the purpose of the Group to influence European educational policy and to develop best practice through mutual exchange of experience.

    The International Office of the University of Würzburg is especially active in the Task Force "Education, Training, and Mobility" (ETM). The mission statement of the ETM can be found here.

    2. Membership in the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) network:

    The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) is the largest funding organization for the international exchange of students and researchers worldwide. Since its founding in 1925, the DAAD has supported over 1.5 million academics in Germany and abroad.  It is considered to be the association of German universities and student bodies. The University of Würzburg is a member of the DAAD network.

    3. GATE Germany

    The University of Würzburg is a member of the consortium for International University Marketing, GATE Germany.  Membership in GATE allows University departments with internationally-oriented academic programs and the aim of student recruitment to take part in publications and international fairs at economical prices.

    4. International Offices of Bavarian Universities

    The International Offices of the Bavarian universities meet twice yearly to exchange ideas and discuss various topics and challenges surrounding international education. Together, the Universities promote studying in Bavaria at international fairs.


    Department 1: Service Centre International Affairs
    Josef-Martin-Weg 54/2
    Campus Hubland Nord
    97074 Würzburg


    Find Contact

    Hubland Nord, Geb. 54