Deutsch Intern
  • [Translate to Englisch:] Neue Universität, Sanderring

University Board

The University Board comprises the President, five Vice Presidents and the Registrar. Responsibilities of the University Board include the day-to-day running of the university as well as defining the principles informing the university's development and the objectives of university policy.Scheduled meetings


Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Alfred Forchel

The President represents the university and serves as Chairman of the University Board. He provides the initiative for the development of the university and outlines the principles informing the objectives of university policy.


Prof. Dr. Alfred Forchel


Dr. Uwe Klug

The Chancellor serves as the head of the university’s administration and as budget officer and is the superior of the university’s non-academic staff.

Vice Presidents and Offices of the University Board

Prof. Dr. Hermann Einsele

Hermann Einsele‘s work focuses on the areas of research and the promotion of young researchers.

Prof. Dr. Hermann Einsele

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Holzgrabe

Ulrike Holzgrabe’s work focuses on the areas of teacher training as well as teaching and learning.

Bild von Prof. Dr. Ulrike Holzgrabe

Prof. Dr. Barış Kabak

Barış Kabak’s work focuses on the areas of internationalisation, alumni, and public relations.


Bild von Prof. Dr. Baris Kabak

apl. Prof. Dr. Barbara Sponholz

Barbara Sponholz is responsible for equal opportunities as well as the university‘s cooperation with the city and the region. She is also in charge of funded projects in the area of teacher training.

apl. Prof. Dr. Barbara Sponholz

Prof. Dr. Andrea Szczesny

Andrea Szczesny's work focuses on quality management and organizational development.

Prof. Dr. Andrea Szczesny

Extended University Board


The Extended University Board advises and assists the University Board in the fulfilment of its responsibilities, prepares the development plan and makes any necessary adjustments to this plan. It makes proposals for research focuses and the creation of collaborative research centers, graduate schools and research institutions. It decides on focuses in the budget and the organization of the university into faculties.

The Extended University Board is chaired by the President.


Prof. Dr. Martin Stuflesser, Faculty of Catholic Theology
Phone: +49 931 31-83139, Email: stuflesser@uni-wuerzburg.de

Prof. Dr. Olaf Sosnitza, Faculty of Law
Phone: +49 931 31-82342, Email: olaf.sosnitza@uni-wuerzburg.de

Prof. Dr. Matthias Frosch, Faculty of Medicine
Phone: +49 931 201-46160, Email: mfrosch@hygiene.uni-wuerzburg.de 

Prof. Dr. Roland Baumhauer, Faculty of Arts
Phone: +49 931 31-85554, Email: baumhauer@uni-wuerzburg.de

Prof. Dr. Johannes Hewig, Faculty of Human Sciences
Phone: +49 931 31-82463, Email: hewig@psychologie.uni-wuerzburg.de

Prof. Dr. Charlotte Förster, Faculty of Biology
Phone: +49 931 31-88823, Email: charlotte.foerster@biozentrum.uni-wuerzburg.de

Prof. Dr. Maik Finze, Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy
Phone: +49 931 31-85857, Email: maik.finze@uni-wuerzburg.de

Prof. Dr. Samuel Kounev, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
Phone: +49 931 31-85041, Email: samuel.kounev@uni-wuerzburg.de

Prof. Dr. Björn Trauzettel, Faculty of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: +49 931 31-83638, Email: trauzettel@physik.uni-wuerzburg.de

Prof. Dr. Toker Doganoglu, Faculty of Business Management and Economics
Phone: +49 931 31-86822, Email: toker.doganoglu@uni-wuerzburg.de

Prof. Dr. Thomas Trefzger, Director of the Professional School of Education
Phone: +49 931 31-85787, Email: trefzger@physik.uni-wuerzburg.de

  • a member representing the university‘s students
    Daniel Janke
    Email: daniel.janke@uni-wuerzburg.de

  • a member representing the university‘s academic staff
    Dr. Thomas Leuerer, Faculty of Human Sciences
    Phone: +49 931 31-84892, Email: thomas.leuerer@uni-wuerzburg.de

  • a member representing the university‘s non-academic staff
    Matthias Funken, Head of Information Technology Centre
    Phone: +49 931 31-86955, Email: matthias.funken@uni-wuerzburg.de 

  • the Women‘s Representative of the university
    apl. Prof. Dr. Marie-Christine Dabauvalle, Women‘s Representative of the university
    Phone: +49 931 31-88055, Email: dabauvalle@biozentrum.uni-wuerzburg.de

  • the Medical Director of the University Hospital
    Prof. Dr. Georg Ertl, Medical Director of the University Hospital
    Email: ertl_g@ukw.de (in an advisory capacity)