Deutsch Intern
    ZINF Research Center for Infectious Diseases

    Institutions of the ZINF

    The Research Center for Infectious Diseases (ZINF) is a MULTI-DISCIPLINARY NETWORK of researchers in Würzburg addressing molecular principles of host-pathogen interactions. It brings together experts from MICROBIOLOGY, PARASITOLOGY, VIROLOGY, IMMUNOLOGY, CHEMISTRY, and CLINICAL PRACTICE and facilitates cross-faculty communication, initiation of joint research activities, as well as recruitment of extramural funding.


    Institut of Molecular Infection Biology

    Jörg Vogel

    Cynthia Sharma
    Deep Sequencing Approaches to Pathogenesis

    Joachim Morschhäuser

    Knut Ohlsen
    Gram-positive Cocci

    Wilma Ziebuhr
    Nosocomial Infections by Staphylococci

    Sina Bartfeld (associated)
    Host response to infections


    Institute for Hygiene and Mikrobiologiy

    Oliver Kurzai
    Medical Microbiology and Mycology

    Klaus Brehm
    Helminth Infections

    Franziska Faber
    Microbial Interactions

    Christoph Schoen
    Molecular Diagnostics and Functional Genomics of Human Pathogenic Bacteria

    Alexandra Schubert-Unkmeir
    Host-Pathogen Interactions

    Institut for Virology and Immunology - Virology

    Lars Dölken
    Systems Biology of Herpesvirus Infections

    Florian Erhard
    Computational Systems Virology

    Bhupesh Prusty
    Medical Microbiology and Mycology

    Jürgen Schneider-Schaulies
    Morbillivirus Pathogenesis


    Dept. of Microbiology, Biocenter

    Thomas Rudel
    Infection Biology of Bacteria

    Martin Fraunholz
    Cellular Microbiology

    Vera Kozjak-Pavlovic
    Bacterial Invasion and Intracellular Survival

    Alexander Westermann


    Dept. of Internal Medicine II


    Hermann Einsele -
    Interaction of Aspergillus fumigatus with Human Natural Killer Cells and Dendritic Cells

    Andreas Beilhack -
    Experimental Stem Cell Transplantation

    Jürgen Löffler -
    Immunity against Aspergillus spp.


    Institute of Systems Immunology

    Wolfgang Kastenmüller
    Lecocyte Dynamics

    Georg Gasteiger
    Tissue Immunity

    Mercedes Gomez de Agüero
    Host-Microbial Interactions

    Martin Vaeth
    Metabolism and Immune Cell Signalling


    Helmholtz Institute for RNA-based Infection Biology

    Lars Barquist
    Integrative Informatics for Infection Biology

    Chase Beisel
    RNA Synthetic Biology

    Neva Caliskan
    Recoding Mechanisms in Infection

    Mathias Munschauer
    Decoding RNA-Protein Interactomes of Regulatory RNA in Infection

    Antoine-Emmanuel Saliba
    Single-cell Analysis

    Redmond Smyth
    Genome Architecture and Evolution of RNA Viruses