piwik-script

Deutsch Intern
    SCIAS

    SCIAS Fellows

    Becoming a SCIAS-Fellow

    Internationally renowned researchers from universities and research facilities all over the world, who cooperate with faculties of JMU, can be appointed SCIAS-Fellow of the Siebold-Collegium Institute of Advanced Studies. 

    Requirements are:

    1. The title of professor or at least being a postdoc (minimum of four years since degree).
    2. Proven affinity to JMU (past stays in Würzburg, cooperation with Würzburger researchers, etc.).
    3. A stay of at least three month at SCIAS.
    4. A guest lecture of about 30-45 minutes on the current research topic.

    Our SCIAS-Fellows

    The Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg has hosted many excellent researchers who developed tight cooperation and connections with the university and the city of Würzburg. Here you can find some current and formerly leading researchers of different scientific disciplines which we are proud to call SCIAS Fellows.

    Dr. Toby Bell (Monash University in Melbourne) is a chemist. He received his doctorate from the University of Melbourne in 2002. The subsequent postdoctoral phase brought him to the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion (Mülheim) and the Catholic University of Leuven (Belgium). In 2009, he was appointed Lecturer in Physical Chemistry at Monash University and in 2014 he was appointed to a Tenure Track at Monash University. At Monash he heads an interdisciplinary research group using fluorescence techniques to study molecules and cells.

    Prof. Dr. Stefan Hofman (Boston University) is a leading expert in the research of anxiety and anxiety disorders. Since 2008, he is Professor of Psychology at the Department of Psychology of Boston University. He directs the Psychotherapy and Emotion Research Laboratory where he examines anxiety disorders with regard to treatment mechanisms, translational research, culture and mental health, motion research and psychopathology and nosology.

     

    The research focus of Dr. Zhenguo Huang (University of Technology Sydney) is in the field of new boron-containing compounds for potential applications in hydrogen storage and batteries as well as the growth of large and few-layered h-BN nanosheets and borophene, and their novel applications. He currently is a Senior Researcher at the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering of the University of Technology Sydney.

     

    Prof. Dr. Hiroshi Kumigashira (Tohoku University) is one of the leading experts in the field of oxide nanostructures, photoemission spectroscopy and x-ray absorption spectroscopy. He has a Ph.D. in Physics and holds the chair of the Institute of Multidisciplinary Research for Advanced Materials (IMRAM) at Tohoku University and of the Photon Factory, Institute of Materials Structure Science (IMSS) from the High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK).

     

    Mikhail Lopatin received his B.A, M.A (with distincition) and PhD in Musicology from the P.I. Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow (Title of the PhD-Thesis: "Franco-Flemish Masses of the Fiftheenth Century: Issues of Stylistic Development"). His main research focus have been in canons and canonic techniques of Trecento and early Quattrocento music. After his dissertation Mikhail Lopatin initially worked as a lecturer at the Tchaikovsky Convervatory. Lopatin then held positions at internationally renowned institutions: He received a "Swiss Federal Government Scholarship", was Visiting Fellow at the Villa I Tatti at Harvard University (Center for Italien Renaissance Studies, Florence), and Newton Intrerantional Fellow at the University of Oxford (St. Hugh's College). From 2018 to 2020 he is a Humboldt Fellow at the JMU.

    During his research stay at the University of Würzburg, Mikhail Lopatin received the renowned "Westrup Prize" for his article "Metapoesis in Trecento Song: 'Divisio' at the Intersection of Love, Poetic Form, and Music" in the journal "Music and Letters" (Vol. 99, 2018).

    Prof. Peter Arnt Nielsen (Copenhagen Business School) is a legal scholar. After graduating in law from the University of Copenhagen, he received his doctorate there in 1999. After holding judicial positions, he has been a professor at the Copenhagen Business School since 2007 and heads the legal department there. Prof. Nielsen has been a member of numerous legislative committees and working groups in the European Union. He is also a member of the Groupe européen de droit international privé and the International Academy of Comparative Law.

    His research focuses on international arbitration, mediation, litigation, Danish and international contract law and European private law.

    Prof. Dr. Alicia Ponte-Sucre (Central University of Venezuela, UCV) is one of the leading experts regarding the themes Leishmania and Trypanosoma. Prof. Dr. Alicia Ponte-Sucre holds a Magister Scientiarum in Biology (Physiology and Biophysics) and a Doctor of Sciences (Pharmacology). She is Full Professor in Human Physiology at the Faculty of Medicine, UCV. She has several scientific affiliations in her field and acts as external advisor of diverse national and international institutions for projects and scholarships and referee for national and international journals. She is member of the Directorate of the Venezuelan-German cultural organization, named Humboldt Cultural Association. This corporation was founded in Caracas in 1949, with the special task of deepening the ties between Venezuela and Germany, and to promote cultural scientific exchanges between the two countries.

    Professor Subhabrata Sen, since July 2019 Professor Designate of Chemistry at Shiv Nadar University, Greater Noida, near New Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, India. He will join this position from July 2019, was the head of the Department of Chemistry at Shiv Nadar University until July 2018. From 2002 to 2012, he gained experience in pharmaceutical industry in companies like Chemocentryx Inc., USA, BASF-India, Pfizer-VMPS before joining academia in 2013. So far, he has mentored seven Ph.D. students. He is an editorial board member of Wiley Journals (Drug Development Research). So far, he has more than fifty peer-reviewed publications in internationally reputed journals and holds several world and US patents. Among the numerous awards he received is the Siebold Collegium Fellowship from University of Würzburg in 2017.

    Ass. Prof. Dr. Masanori Tsunekawa (Shiga University) is an expert on the topic of Photoemission. He has a Ph.D. in Physics and is currently Assitant Professor at the Faculty of Education, Shiga University.

    Prof. Dr. Horacio Vanegas-Fischbach (formerly Venezuelan Institute for Scientific Research, IVIC) is a Neurobiology scientist. He holds a Bachelor in Medicine and Surgery, a Doctor of Philosophy from Yale University, and has been a full professor at the department of Biophysics and Biochemistry at the IVIC for several years.

     

    The research interests of Prof. Dr. Francesco Verde's (Sapienza University of Rome) include, among others, History of Ancient Philosophy, Classical Philology, Greek and Roman Literary and Philosophical Culture, History of Ancient Physics, History of Greek Mathematics and Philosophical Historiography of the Ancient World. He has a Ph.D. degree in Philosophy and is currently Adjunct Professor of History of Ancient Philosophy at Sapienza University of Rome.

piwik-script

English Intern
    Siebold-Collegium Institute for Advanced Studies

    SCIAS Fellows

    SCIAS-Fellow werden

    International renommierte WissenschaftlerInnen von Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen der ganzen Welt, die mit den JMU Fakultäten kooperieren, können als Fellows des Siebold-Collegiums Institute for Advanced Studies ernannt werden.

    Voraussetzungen dafür sind:

    1. Ein Professorentitel oder zumindest Status als Postdoktorand (mindestens seit vier Jahren).
    2. Ausgewiesene Verbundenheit zur JMU (vergangene Aufenthalte in Würzburg, Kooperationen mit Würzburger WissenschaftlerInnen etc.).
    3. Ein mindestens dreimonatiger Aufenthalt am SCIAS.
    4. Ein Gastvortrag von 30-45 Minuten zum Thema des Forschungsaufenthalts.

    Unsere SCIAS-Fellows

    Die Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg begrüßte und beherbergte viele exzellente WissenschaftlerInnen, die enge Verbindungen und Kooperationen mit der Universität und der Stadt Würzburg entwickelten. Nachfolgend finden Sie einige unserer jetzigen und auch ehemaligen Gastwissenschaftler und Gastwissenschaftlerinnen aus den unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen, die wir stolz als SCIAS-Fellows bezeichnen.

    Dr. Toby Bell (Monash University in Melbourne) ist Chemiker. 2002 wurde er an der University of Melbourne promoviert. Die anschließende Postdoc-Phase brachte ihn an das Max-Planck-Institut für Chemische Energiekonversion (Mülheim) und an die Katholische Universität Löwen (Belgien). 2009 wurde er zum Lecturer für physikalische Chemie an der Monash University und 2014 ebendort auf einen Tenure Track berufen. In Monash leitet er eine interdisziplinäre Forschungsgruppe, die Fluoreszenztechniken zur Erforschung von Molekülen und Zellen einsetzt.

    Prof. Dr. Stefan Hofmann (Boston University) ist führender Experte im Feld der Angst-/ Angststörungsforschung. Seit 2008 ist er Professor für Psychologie am Institut für Psychologie an der Universität Boston. Er ist Leiter des Labors für Psychotherapie und Emotionsforschung, wo er Angststörungen hinsichtlich von Behandlungsmechanismen, translatorischer Forschung, Kultur und geistiger Gesundheit, Bewegungsforschung, Psychopathologie und Nosologie untersucht.

    Dr. Zhenguo Huangs (University of Technology Sydney) Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt im Bereich neuer Bor-enthaltender Verbindungen, die sowohl für die mögliche Anwendung in der Wasserstoffspeicherung und bei Batterien als auch beim Wachstum großer und geringschichtiger h-BN Nanoschichten genutzt werden können. Zurzeit ist er Senior Researcher an der Fakultät für Zivil- und Umwelttechnik der University of Technology in Sydney.

    Prof. Dr. Hiroshi Kumigashira (Tohoku University) ist einer der führenden Experten im Bereich Oxid-Nanostrukturen, Photoemissionsspektroskopie und Röntgenabsorptionsspektroskopie. Er hat einen Doktor in Physik und ist Leiter des Institute of Multidisciplinary Research for Advanced Materials (IMRAM) an der Tohoku Universität und der Photon Factory, Institute of Materials Structure Science (IMSS) der High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK).

    Mikhail Lopatin erwarb seinen B.A., M.A. (mit Auszeichnung) und seinen Doktortitel in Musikwissenschaft am P.I. Tschaikowsky-Konservatorium in Moskau (Titel der Dissertation: "Franko-flämische Messen des fünfzehnten Jahrhunderts"): Jahrhundert: Fragen der stilistischen Entwicklung"). Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich kanonische Musik des Trecento und der frühen Quattrocento-Musik. Nach seiner Dissertation arbeitete Mikhail Lopatin zunächst als Dozent am Tschaikowsky-Konvervatorium. Danach hatte er Positionen an international renommierten Institutionen: Er erhielt ein "Stipendium der Schweizerischen Bundesregierung", war Visiting Fellow in der Villa I Tatti an der Harvard-Universität (Center for Italian Renaissance Studies, Florenz) und Newton Intrerantional Fellow an der Universität Oxford (St. Hugh's College). Von 2018 bis 2020 ist er Humboldt Stipendiat an der JMU.

    Im Rahmen seines Forschungsaufenthaltes an der Universität Würzburg hat Mikhail Lopatin den renommierten "Westrup Prize" für seinen Artikel "Metapoesis in Trecento Song: 'Divisio' at the Intersection of Love, Poetic Form, and Music" in der Fachzeitschrift "Music and Letters" (Vol. 99, 2018) erhalten.

    Prof. Peter Arnt Nielsen (Copenhagen Business School) ist Rechtswissenschaftler. Nach dem juristischen Examen an der Universität Kopenhagen wurde er ebendort 1999 promoviert. Nach richterlichen Stationen ist er seit 2007 Professor an der Copenhagen Business School und leitet das das dortige juristische Department. Prof. Nielsen gehörte und gehört zahlreichen gesetzgebenden Ausschüssen und Arbeitsgruppen in der Europäischen Union an. Zudem ist er Mitglied der Groupe européen de droit international privé sowie der International Academy of Comparative Law.

    Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in den Gebieten internationale Schiedsgerichtsbarkeiten, Schlichtungen, Rechtsstreitigkeiten sowie auf dänischem und internationalem Vertragsrecht und europäischem Privatrecht.

    Prof. Dr. Alicia Ponte-Sucre (Central University of Venezuela, UCV) ist eine der führenden Expertinnen auf den Gebieten der Leishmaniose und Trypanosomen. Sie hat ihren Magisterabschluss in Biologie (Physiologie und Biophysik) und ihren Doktor in Pharmakologie gemacht. Sie ist Professorin für Humanphysiologie an der medizinischen Fakultät der UCV. Prof. Dr. Ponte-Sucre ist Mitglied verschiedener bedeutender wissenschaftlicher Institutionen in ihrem Forschungsbereich. Zudem arbeitet sie als externe Beraterin in Projekten und Forschungen verschiedener nationaler und internationaler Institutionen. Des Weiteren ist sie Gutachterin für einschlägige nationale und internationale Fachzeitschriften. Sie ist Direktoriumsmitglied der Humboldt Cultural Association, einer venezolanisch-deutschen Kulturorganisation. Diese Kooperation wurde 1949 in Caracas gegründet, mit dem speziellen Ziel die Verbindungen zwischen Venezuela und Deutschland zu vertiefen und den kulturwissenschaftlichen Austausch zwischen beiden Ländern zu fördern.

    Prof. Subhabrata Sen, seit Juli 2019 designierter Professor für Chemie an der Shiv Nadar University (Greater Noida nahe Neu-Delhi, Uttar Pradesh in Indien), war Leiter der Abteilung für Chemie an der Shiv Nadar Universität bis Juli 2018. Er hat im Zeitraum von 2002-2012 in der pharmazeutischen Industrie gearbeitet, bei Größen wie Chemocentryx Inc., USA, BASF-India, Pfizer-VMPS, bevor er 2013 in die Wissenschaft ging. Bis heute hat er sieben Doktoranden betreut und ist Mitglied im Redaktionsdirektorium der Abteilung des Wiley Journals, das sich mit der Arzneimittelforschung beschäftigt. Er hat mehr als fünfzig Veröffentlichungen in international renommierten Fachzeitschriften sowie mehrere Welt- und US- Patente. Unter seinen zahlreichen Auszeichnungen befindet sich auch die Ernennung 2017 zum SCIAS-Fellow der Universität Würzburg.

    Juniorprofessor Dr. Masanori Tsunekawa (Shiga University) ist Experte im Bereich der Photoemission. Er hat einen Doktor in Physik und arbeitet zurzeit als Juniorprofessor an der Faculty of Education der Shiga Universität.

    Prof. Dr. Horacio Vanegas-Fischbach (Venezuelan Institute for Scientific Research, IVIC) ist Neurobiologe. Er hat einen Bachelorabschluss in Medizin und Chirurgie, hat seinen Doktor in Philosophie an der Yale Universität erhalten und war für mehrere Jahre Professor in der Abteilung für Biophysik und Biochemie am IVIC.

    Prof. Dr. Francesco Verdes (Sapienza University Rome) Forschungsinteressen beinhalten u. a. die Geschichte der antiken Philosophie, klassische Philologie, die literarische und philosophische Kultur Roms und Griechenlands, die Geschichte antiker Physik, die Geschichte griechischer Mathematik und die philosophische Historiographie der antiken Welt. Er hat seinen Doktor in Philosophie gemacht und ist momentan Lehrbeauftragter für die Geschichte der antiken Philosophie an der Sapienza Universität in Rom.