Deutsch Intern
  • [Translate to Englisch:] Neue Universität, Lichthof
  • [Translate to Englisch:] Stadt Würzburg, Fluss, Burg, Freizeit
  • [Translate to Englisch:] Campus Nord, Brücke


The Siebold-Collegium is named after Philipp Franz von Siebold (1796-1866) who earned his medical degree at the University of Würzburg. He spent many years in Japan, transferring European medical expertise to this country and bringing detailed knowledge of Japanese flora and fauna back to Europe. This made him a paragon for international exchange.

Founded in 2016, SCIAS aims at

  • promoting international and interdisciplinary exchange, dialogue and cooperation between outstanding visiting researchers and members of JMU
  • fostering integration of visiting researchers into academic and cultural life in Würzburg

SCIAS fellows benefit from a diverse programme combining opportunities for academic exchange with social and cultural events. They are housed in a beautifully restored 18th century building located in the city centre.

At SCIAS international guest researchers can

  • become a fellow
  • stay in SCIAS' own guesthouse, the centrally located Welz-Haus
  • participate in regular academic and cultural events
  • get in touch with fellow guest researchers and JMU staff
  • present their own work to the community

SCIAS Organization

SCIAS is headed by a Board of Directors comprising three JMU professors whose different disciplinary backgrounds represent the broad spectrum of subjects taught at the University of Würzburg. The SCIAS Board of Directors is responsible for the academic and cultural programme of the Siebold-Collegium and its administrative and financial operations. It also makes the final decision on the admission of fellows in consultation with the University Board of JMU.

The current members of the Board of Directors are:

  • Prof. Dr. phil. Dr. h.c. Michael Erler, Full Professor Emeritus of Classic Philology (Chairman of the Board)
  • Prof. Dr. med. Eva-Bettina Bröcker, Professor Emerita of Dermatology, former director of the university dermatological clinic
  • Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Ulrike Holzgrabe, Full Professor of Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry

The Academic Advisory Council of the Siebold-Collegium consists of up to ten faculty members of Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg (JMU) who are internationally respected scholars in their areas of expertise.

The interdisciplinary composition of the Council covers the broad range of disciplines offered at JMU. The chief responsibility of the Academic Advisory Council is the organisation of the process for selecting fellows. It provides recommendations on the admission of fellows to the Board of Directors. The Council also supports the Board of Directors in putting together the academic and cultural programme for SCIAS.

The SCIAS Board of Trustees advises the SCIAS Board of Directors and the University Board on strategic questions regarding the development of the Siebold-Collegium. It is also responsible for proposing candidates for the SCIAS Board of Directors.

The Board of Trustees comprises up to ten members who are either professors at JMU or external experts from academia and public life.

For the duration of the fellowship, both guests and their hosts at JMU are SCIAS members. In addition, the members of the SCIAS Board of Directors, the Academic Advisory Council and the Board of Trustees are by definition SCIAS members. This is also the case for the members of the JMU University Board.

The external and internal SCIAS members constitute the Assembly of SCIAS Members. The Assembly meets once per term and provides advice and recommendations regarding the academic and cultural programme of SCIAS.