English Intern

Molekulare Chemie und Materialien

Molecular Chemistry and Materials

As one of JMU’s eight priority areas, Molecular Chemistry and Materials is primarily anchored in the Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy, which covers the classic sub-disciplines inorganic, organic and physical/theoretical chemistry, but also comprises research in biochemistry, pharmacy and food chemistry as well as functional materials.

Organized around five modern and interdisciplinary research interests (Biochemistry and Molecular Life Science; Functional Materials; Light-Matter Interaction; Medicinal Chemistry; Molecular Synthesis and Catalysis), the faculty is ideally positioned to cooperate with partners in the city of Würzburg (Fraunhofer Institute for Silicate Research ISC, Süddeutsches Kunststoffzentrum etc.) and has actively contributed to the establishment of a variety of national and international research networks. 

JMU is host to one of the world-leading chemistry departments in the field of molecular chemistry, which over the last decade has oriented its research towards larger molecular structures and supramolecular architectures of increasing size. Two vibrant research centers have been established in recent years, namely the Center for Nanosystems Chemistry (CNC, new building inaugurated in 2016) and the Institute for Sustainable Chemistry & Catalysis with Boron (ICB, new building to be completed in 2021). Moreover, additional chairs and professorships, e.g. for biomacromolecular chemistry, physical organic chemistry, boron chemistry, and biochemistry with a focus on electron cryo microscopy have been set up to further strengthen JMU’s research profile within this priority area. 

In recognition of its exceptionally strong performance, research within the priority area Molecular Chemistry and Materials has profited from significant financial support for the modernization of infrastructure (primarily provided by the Free State of Bavaria). A new building for the Institute of Pharmacy and Nutrition Chemistry was opened in 2009. The groups in Theoretical Chemistry (newly established chair) and the Institute of Organic Chemistry moved into completely renovated buildings in 2011 and 2013. The new Institute of Inorganic Chemistry will start its operation in 2018. 

ERC Grants:

  • Holger Braunschweig (Advanced Grant 2016–2021)
  • Jürgen Groll (Consolidator Grant 2014–2019)
  • Claudia Höbartner (Consolidator Grant 2016–2021)
  • Roland Mitrić (Consolidator Grant 2015–2020)
  • More