Deutsch Intern
  • [Translate to Englisch:] Neue Universität, Sanderring

University Council

Members of the university council:

Current members of the Senate: List of Senators

Ten personalities from science and culture and in particular from business and professional practice. These are for the current term of office until 30.09.2019:

  • Prof. Dr. Ekhard Salje (Vorsitzender)
    University of Cambridge - Department of Earth Sciences
  • Dipl.-Ing. Claus Bolza-Schünemann
    Chairman of the Board of Koenig & Bauer AG, Würzburg
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Grewe
    Chairman of the Board of Deloitte-Stiftung, München
  • Prof. Dr. Stefanie Gropper
    University of Tübingen, Institute for Scandinavian Studies
  • Lic.oec. HSG Ingrid Hunger 
    Chairman of the Board of Walter Hunger GmbH & Co.KG Hydraulikzylinderwerk
  • Prof. Dr. Andrea Kern
    University of Leipzig, Institute of Philosophy
  • Dipl.-Kfm. Baldwin Knauf 
    Chairman of the Shareholders' Committee of Knauf Unternehmensgruppe, Iphofen
  • Dipl.-Phys. Reinhard Kretschmer 
    Member of the Board of Management for the Engines Division, Brose Fahrzeugteile GmbH & Co. KG, Coburg
  • Prof. Dr. Ursula Peters

    University of Cologne, Institute for German Language and Literature I (Older Language and Literature)

    Institute for German Language and Literature I
    Older Language and LiteratureUniversity of Cologne

  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Werner
    ETH Zurich, Institute of Cell Biology

The University Council:

  • decides the basic order and their change by statute, as well as over requests after art. 106 exp. 2 Bay. Higher Education Act,
  • elects the President and decides on their deselection,
  • elects the other members of the university management, with the exception of the chancellor, and decides on their deselection,
  • decides on proposals for the appointment of the chancellor after nomination of suitable persons by the university management,
  • decides on the university's development plan drawn up by the Extended University Administration,
  • decides on proposals for the division of the university into faculties at the request of the Extended University Administration,
  • decides on the establishment, modification and cancellation of study programmes,
  • comments on the establishment, alteration or cancellation of scientific and artistic institutions as well as operating units by the university management,
  • shall give its opinion on the estimates relating to the State budget or the draft economic plan,
  • receives the President's report and may deliberate on it,
  • determines the corporate budget,
  • administrates the other duties assigned to it by law or by virtue of any statute,
  • is consulted before the conclusion of target agreements with the state and determines for the university the achievement of the targets specified in these target agreements.