Deutsch Intern

Extended University Board 

The Extended University Board comprises (as of 1 October 2017):

the members of the University Board

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Alfred Forchel, President
Phone: +49 931 31-82240, Email:

Dr. Uwe Klug, Chancellor
Phone: +49 931 31-82231, Email:

Prof. Dr. Hermann Einsele, Vice-President
Phone: +49 931 31-40000, Email:

Prof. Dr. Phuoc Tran-Gia, Vice-President
Phone: +49 931 31-86630, Email:

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Riedel, Vice-President
Phone: +49 931 31-85647, Email:

Prof. Dr. Andrea Szczesny, Vice-President
Phone: +49 931 31-81018, Email:

apl. Prof. Dr. Barbara Sponholz, Vice-President
Phone: +49 931 31-85535, Email:

The Deans of the Faculties

Prof. Dr. Martin Stuflesser, Faculty of Catholic Theology
Phone: +49 931 31-83139, Email:

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Pache, Faculty of Law
Phone: +49 931 31-82333, Email:

Prof. Dr. Matthias Frosch, Faculty of Medicine
Phone: +49 931 201-46160, Email:

Prof. Dr. Roland Baumhauer, Faculty of Arts
Phone: +49 931 31-85554, Email:

Prof. Dr. Andreas Dörpinghaus, Faculty of Human Sciences
Phone: +49 931 31-85560, Email: andreas.dö

Prof. Dr. Marcus Sauer, Faculty of Biology
Phone: +49 931 31-88687, Email:

Prof. Dr. Lorenz Meinel, Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy
Phone: +49 931 31-83765, Email:

Prof. Dr. Christian Kanzow, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
Phone: +49 931 31-85041, Email:

Prof. Dr. Bert Hecht, Faculty of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: +49 931 31-85863, Email:

Prof. Dr. Richard Pibernik, Faculty of Business Management and Economics
Phone: +49 931 31-86969, Email:

Prof. Dr. Thomas Trefzger, Director of the Professional School of Education
Phone: +49 931 31-85787, Email:

a member representing the University's students

Hendrick Ziegler

a member representing the University's academic staff 

Dr. Thomas Leuerer, Chair of Comparative Politics and German Politics
Phone: +49 931 31-84892, Email:

a member representing the University's non-academic staff

Matthias Funken, Head of Data Processing Center
Phone: +49 931 31-86955, Email:

the Women's Representative of the University

apl. Prof. Dr. Marie-Christine Dabauvalle, Women's Representative of the University
Phone: +49 931 31-88055, Email:

the Medical Director of the University Hospital

Prof. Dr. Georg Ertl, Medical Director of the University Hospital
Email: (in an advisory capacity)


The Extended University Board advises and assists the University Board in the fulfilment of its responsibilities, prepares the development plan and makes any necessary adjustments to this plan. It makes proposals for research focuses and the creation of collaborative research centres, graduate Schools and research institutions. It decides on focuses in the Budget and the Organisation of the University into Faculties.

The Extended University Board is chaired by the President.

To top


Universität Würzburg
Sanderring 2
97070 Würzburg

Phone: +49 931 31-0
Fax: +49 931 31-82600

Find Contact

Sanderring Röntgenring Hubland Nord Hubland Süd Campus Medizin