Deutsch Intern


Having grown into a comprehensive research-intensive university, JMU has been committed to the advancement of “Science for Society” for centuries. Many eminent scientists have studied, taught and conducted research here, for example:

  • Philipp Franz von Siebold, renowned ethnologist, japanologist, and naturalist
  • Rudolf Virchow, founder of cellular pathology
  • Franz Brentano, Philosopher
  • Theodor Boveri, who was among the first to argue that cellular processes are important for cancer
  • Emil Fischer (1885-1892), who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for determining the basic chemistry of sugar. 
  • Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen (1869-1900) discovered the X-rays in Würzburg, an achievement for which he was honored with the first Nobel Prize in Physics in 1901.
  • Klaus von Klitzing (1869-1880) received this distinction in 1985 for the discovery of the quantum Hall effect, which was based on his research at JMU.

JMU’s tradition of cutting-edge research continues to inspire its scientists to strive for new and unexpected insights at the frontiers of knowledge.



Universität Würzburg
Sanderring 2
97070 Würzburg

Phone: +49 931 31-0
Fax: +49 931 31-82600

Find Contact

Sanderring Röntgenring Hubland Nord Hubland Süd Campus Medizin