From 1720 to 1744, the shell of the former residence of the Würzburg prince-bishops was built and completed until 1780 to become one of the most prominent baroque castles in Europe. The first builder, prince-bishop Johann Philipp Franz von Schönborn, charged the architect Balthasar Neumann (1687-1753), who was still young and unknown at the time, with the planning.
The interior design was created by three generations of artists and artisans from all over Europe who designed the unique style of Würzburg court art. The Venetian Giovanni Battista Tiepolo set the highlights with his ceiling frescos in the Imperial Hall and the staircase from 1751-1753.
Today, the residence's south wing accommodates a number of university facilities, from the Martin Wagner Museum to various departments of the classical and ancient studies and parts of the Institute of Philosophy.More information
Please Mind the Picture Rights!
Please note that using the photos is only allowed for coverage about the University of Würzburg. Also, you have to cite the source as "photo: University of Würzburg" or quote the photographer's name where available.
- all images 23 MB
Click on the thumbnails below to download individual photos.