Deutsch Intern

The JMU: A history of success

The roots of the Julius-Maximilians-Universität (JMU) Würzburg in Bavaria, Germany, reach back as far as 1402. In that era, it was the sixth institution of higher education to be founded in the German-speaking regions of Europe, after the Universities of Prague, Vienna, Heidelberg, Cologne, and Erfurt.

Renowned scientists

Many eminent scholars and scientists, 14 Nobel Laureates among them, have researched and taught in Würzburg. Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, who discovered the X-rays in Würzburg in 1895, or Klaus von Klitzing, discoverer of the Quantum-Hall Effect.

An extensive choice of subjects

In addition to the classic four – medicine, theology, philosophy, and law - this range includes many new degree programmes. The most recent ones are Nanostructure Technology, Functional Materials, Games Engineering, Modern China, Digital Humanities, Media Communications, Human Factors in Computing Systems and Museology – to name but a few.

The JMU remains strongly committed to eight pillars:

  • Life Sciences
  • Health Sciences
  • Molecular Chemistry, Nanoscale Materials and Processes
  • Quantum Phenomena in New Materials
  • Digital Society
  • Cultural Heritage
  • Global Changes
  • Norms and Behaviour

A policy of expansion

It is not only the list of degree programmes that has grown over the years. JMU itself has been expanding continuously. On a hill at the eastern edge of the city, the generous Hubland Campus was set up. In 2011, the University expanded to include the newly set-up Campus Nord, a 39-hectare area in the immediate vicinity of Hubland Campus.

Würzburg University is one of the leading institutions of higher education in Germany – this is verified by the rankings of domestic and international research organisations as well as international expert committees. On an international level, too, JMU ranks in the top bracket of academic institutions in many scientific disciplines including biology, medicine, physics, and psychology.

Research centres as a trademark

As early as in the 1990s, the University began founding cross-faculty research centres, opening up new research areas and possibilities for innovative degree programmes. These interdisciplinary centres – the Research Centre for Infectious Diseases is one of them – have become an internationally prominent trademark of the University of Würzburg.

Creating research centres has provided enormous thrust and has pushed the University into the top tier of German academic institutions. The successful integration of the centres into the structures of the University has had many positive effects. Among others, it has rapidly boosted the amounts of public funding, private donations, or research funds raised from industrial companies. And the number of academically prestigious publications since the mid-1990s has grown significantly, even though the endowment of the University of Würzburg with positions for professors and assistants remained almost constant in that period.

Science and success

The scientific standing of the University of Würzburg also shows in its numerous Collaborative Research Centres, Research Training Groups, and Research Units, whose funding by the German Research Foundation (DFG) Würzburg's scientists have raised against heavy competition.

In 2002, JMU launched one of the three Centres of Excellence the DFG funded across Germany – the Rudolf Virchow Centre /DFG Research Centre for Experimental Biomedicine. Its teams investigate key proteins, which are especially important for sustained health, respectively in the origin of diseases.

Promoting the next generation

The University of Würzburg regards the promotion of junior academics as an essential responsibility. Establishing its Graduate Schools in 2004 constitutes another milestone in this endeavour. These institutions provide doctoral candidates with the appropriate structures and formats to continue and enhance their education.

To top


Universität Würzburg
Sanderring 2
97070 Würzburg

Phone: +49 931 31-0
Fax: +49 931 31-82600

Find Contact

Sanderring Röntgenring Hubland Nord Hubland Süd Campus Medizin